God is for Me

I is am are were was dating this great guy. Seriously, an amazing man who I would be hard pressed to find fault with. But that’s not the point.  I’ll get to the point – We’re not dating anymore. Basically, God, the author our relationship, decided not to write in part of it – the romantic, butterflies, love notes, poems, etc, part – so we’re better served as friends.

How does that make you feel? – you may ask.

The Lord has been sweet to me as I’ve worked out this relationship. If you know me at all, have read any post on here, have talked to someone who knows me, have ever looked at me, etc – you know I long for that next stage of life where I become a wife.

Relationships that don’t work out have the potential to leave me jaded, bitter, hopeless – any number of sad emotions. But as I walk through this, I am none of those things.

Instead, the Lord has answered my prayer for a guarded heart, peace and hope. It’s been really good.

Why am I sharing this? Because the theme of this processing has been “God is for Me.” No matter what happens in my relationships, in my daily life, in work, in my heart – God is for me. And He’s for my happiness and He’s for my good.

Do you hear that, people?! God is for me! God is for you! So wherever you are right now, it is God’s best for you. Alone right now is God’s best for me (not alone-alone, but you understand).

We can all forget that when faced with disappointment of any kind. I’m thankful for the reminder. Hope it serves you well, too!

———-

On an ironic note: My last 3 relationships have ended as soon as the guy came back from being out of town for a week or more. The next guy I date CAN NEVER LEAVE TOWN!!!

love y’all!

6 responses to this post.

  1. Wouldn’t it be funny if Kevin hacked into your blog and changed the heading pictures, replacing them with ones that the 5-year-old took of you? 🙂

    Reply

  2. Thank you for that encouraging reminder. Really needed that.

    Hugs,
    Lindsey

    Reply

  3. thanks friend, I needed to hear that as well!

    and I’d really like to see the pictures the 5 year old took of you….

    Reply

  4. Your Boaz is being pruned sister…he’s a lucky man.

    Reply

  5. Amanda when you do meet the man that God has picked out for you it will be so worth the wait and heartache and any other sad emotion you’ve ever had at the end of a relationship. I think those relationships that don’t work out are God’s way of pruning us…molding us for the relationship that will work out and as you said and most importantly…for our relationship with HIM! Love ya!

    Reply

  6. Posted by kelly on March 12, 2009 at 3:24 pm

    Good word, friend. It’s so good to know that He’s the guard and shield of our hearts and minds and not us. We stink at guarding ourselves. Or at least I do. It’s always good to go through the start and end of a relationship just to show us how much we trust God at the end of the day. Always a sharpening, revealing and encouraging thing. I’m thankful for it. Definitely wanting the next one to work out…God is for me either way! Love ya and thanks for sharing.

    Reply

Leave a comment